James Kimple Center

Welcome to The James Kimple Center or Alternative Education 

The James Kimple Center provides an educational experience for students who are more likely to achieve academic success and reach their potential in a non-traditional, small learning community. The program offers students the ability to meet requirements necessary for a South Brunswick High School diploma within a flexible environment. Students work with teachers and their counselors to design an individualized program plan utilizing alternative options for meeting graduation requirements. Possibilities may include earning credits through regular course work, Option II - Directed Study, work-study, and on-line courses. Students in the Kimple Center continue to have access to resources in the main high school.

Located in an adjacent wing of South Brunswick High School, the Kimple Center is available to all SBHS sophomores, juniors, and seniors. Placement in the program is voluntary and requires parental permission and program acceptance. Students and their parents must initiate an application through their guidance counselors or case manager in order to be considered for acceptance.

Who Benefits From Alternative Education?Students who:

  • need to improve attendance
  • require more individualized instruction and/or personalized attention
  • need to recover lost credits
  • who benefit from shorter instructional blocks and smaller class sizes

Additionally, other situations may arise in a student's high school career which may merit more flexible options.

South Brunswick High School 
James Kimple Center

Yoshi Donato- Assistant Principal 
Yoshi.Donato@sbschools.org
(732)329-4044, Ext. 5240

Justin McCuen - Chairperson
Justin.McCuen@sbschools.org

Sandra Lucariello - Counselor
Sandra.Lucariello@sbschools.org
(732)329-4044, Ext. 5236

Brad Bernstein 
Brad.Bernstein@sbschools.org

Edith Fox
Edith.Fox@sbschools.org

Brianna Logan
Brianna.Logan@sbschools.org

Briton Arnold 
Briton.Arnold@sbschools.org

Wilfredo Rivera
Wilfredo.Rivera@sbschools.org